Plating stuff . . .

There seems to be a lot of confusion and misinformation and resulting unhappiness over less than desirable results when it comes to having items re-finished with nickel or chrome (or brass) by plating shops. I’ve gathered a fair amount of experience over years, which I hope will be helpful, always with the caveat that I am not a plating professional, so if I’m presenting any glaring factual errors, I’d appreciate the correction.

Plating is like painting. Surface preparation is most important, as is subsequent detailing, and adding layers of plated metal does not magically impart a perfect finish on parts. Because bringing items to an acceptable polish before being plated is invariably a skilled and labor-intensive step, this is where things start to go south. The customer wants low-dollar, the plater needs high skill at minimum wage to please the customer, and that ain’t gonna happen. The speed with which most shops need to run over parts in order to meet price expectations means there’s a high degree of probability your parts won’t turn out as “brand new” like you would expect. The best answer to this is to find a shop that will work with you to allow you to do the preparatory cleaning and polishing yourself between plated layers.

The ideal plating sequence for steel parts is 1. fair polish 2. copper plating and polishing 3. nickel plating and polishing, 4. chrome plating if desired. Brass parts intended to be nickeled or chrome plated do not need the copper plating.